Two Types of Social Security Benefits

A person can qualify for Social Security disability benefits if there is sufficient evidence that an injury is preventing him or her from working. Upon getting approved, the person can fall into one of the two categories for Social Security: Title II Disability or the Title XVI Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Knowing the differences between these two allows one to better understand the benefit amount he or she is entitled to.

The Title II Disability is usually the amount given back to the beneficiary after he can no longer work due to a disability. Basically, the tax paid by a person when he or she was still working would be the amount of benefit he or she will receive. People who have worked long enough to build up the benefits or professionals with high taxes usually qualify for this type of Social Security disability benefits.


Beneficiaries who do not qualify for Title II Disability are typically those who wasn’t able to work long enough to put in his or her Social Security. However, the good news is these people can still receive financial assistance through the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program. With SSI, they can have enough to pay for basic needs like food, clothing, and shelter.


Those who are eligible for SSI also receive Medicaid, which is a health care program for the needy. With Medicaid, they can seek medical care and receive medications as needed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s